10 IA SCHOOL SUPERINTENDENTS NAMED & ASKED TO STEP UP

1-30-17

UPDATED 7-25-17

The ten named superintendents herein did not step up nor did they recognize, acknowledge, or respond to the opportunity to do so.  They are over 60% influenced by the flawed defective student belief that poor and minority etc. students can't learn and can't be taught properly.  Anyone claiming to have a better number is asked to provide it to http://www.iowalive.net/

Greetings, 10 Iowa Superintendents Asked to Step Up, Governor Branstad and all—

Congratulations!  Iowalive net workers evaluated all Iowa school superintendents and found you capable, and hopefully willing, to lead initiatives to save/fix Iowa’s school system. You have received related Iowalive emails and are somewhat aware of the situation, as is the Governor.  There are 483,451 Iowa students in schools spending a TOTAL average of nearly $15,000 (see following link to 75 year chart) on each student, for $7.3  billion total.  This could lead to an alternative school  fix. 

AN ALTERNATIVE SCHOOL FIX

If superintendents and the Governor won’t step up to fix the schools, the following table shows how a business entrepreneur can very profitably make a convincing offer, including tax reductions,  to school boards to manage the schools, for no cost increase.  Even better, they would increase student achievement to national, if not international grade levels, as well.  The technology exists to do it, with 15% or more savings.   Entrepreneurs, concerned about the kids,  know this. 

UNACCEPTABLE PUBLIC SCHOOL PERFORMANCE AND COSTS ARE DRIVING SCHOOLS OUT OF BUSINESS

Larger School Districts Show Diseconomies of Scale--Higher Costs Per Student.

A BUSINESS ENTREPRENEUR COULD EASILY CUT SCHOOL  COSTS 10% AND MAKE $179 MILLION ANNUALLY TO MANAGE THE 9 SCHOOL DISTRICTS IN THE TABLE.  Source:  Iowalive 1-30-17

STATE 65th NPR READING  RANK

SCHOOL DISTRICT

ENROLLMENT

FY 2017 BUDGET TOTAL EXPENDITURES . DOESN'T INCLUDE FEES ETC.

COST PER STUDENT.  DOES NOT INCLUDE FEES ETC.

WITH ONLY 10% SAVINGS, ENTREPRENEUR WOULD EASILY GET

SUPERINTENDENT

EMAIL ADDRESS

227

Cedar Rapids

16,939

$246,887,620

$14,575

$24,688,762

Brad Buck

bbuck@cr.k12.ia.us

239

Dubuque

10,588

$175,475,491

$16,573

$17,547,549

Stan Rheingans

srheingans@dbqschools.org

284

Mason City

3,738

$55,015,493

$14,718

$5,501,549

Michael Penca

mpenca@masoncityschools.org

298

Sioux City

14,615

$211,856,941

$14,496

$21,185,694

Paul Gausman

gausmap@live.siouxcityschools.com

305

Council Bluffs

9,126

$146,130,932

$16,013

$14,613,093

Martha Bruckner

mbruckner@cbcsd.org

316

Davenport

15,801

$224,464,750

$14,205

$22,446,475

Art Tate

tateart@davenportschools.org

325

Des Moines Ind

32,582

$537,225,295

$16,488

$53,722,530

Thomas Ahart

superintendent@dmschools.org

328

Waterloo

10,936

$130,534,088

$11,937

$13,053,409

Jane Lindaman

lindamanj@waterlooschools.org

330

Marshalltown

5,321

$63,745,286

$11,980

$6,374,529

Theron Schutte

tschutte@marshalltown.k12.ia.us

 

TOTAL

119,646

$1,791,335,896

 

$179,133,590

 

AVERAGE

$14,554

Note:  Cedar Rapids Budget was $302,280,767 in 2015, which likely resulted in a lower 2017 budget.   

TOTAL STATE

483,451

 

 

STATE AVERAGE WITH FEES ETC.

$15,000

Marshalltown

2014 actual

$99,259,939

$18,654

HIGHER EXPENDITURES IN 2014 LIKELY RESULTED IN LOWER EXPENDITURES IN FY 17

Waterloo

2014 actual

$144,821,293

$27,217

 

As you know, Iowa school superintendents just did a survey of Iowa school superintendents that is all about money—and the usual gloom and doom if they don’t get it.  And as usual, the survey did not include anything about any improved student achievement the superintendents achieved with any past funding increases.   The survey was not about student achievement, it was all about money, despite the 75 year chart on website http://www.iowalive.net/failuresandfix.htm  convincingly showing more money didn’t help at all. 

Meanwhile,13 state organizations, but not the public schools, are having their planned budget increases reduced while inefficient urban districts go unscathed

Urban districts have the greatest diversity of students, and for decades they have used the students as excuses for poor performance (particularly pushed by the Democrats) – contrary to the Manhattan Institute teachability report of 2004.  Using this wrong education theory, they not only deprive these groups of students of their civil right to access education free of discrimination, but they also completely failed to properly assess the curriculum they were using and the teaching methods they were using.  Both the curriculum and the teaching methods focused on memorization rather than concepts, and this ignored certain learning styles in addition to the discrimination against some demographic groups.  Any suggestion they made for “helping” were based on these wrong-headed theories that were the true sources of the problems.  The billions of misspent tax dollars allocated for false presumptions ran up the cost of education unnecessarily without achieving results. But there is some room left for hope!

SUPERINTENDENTS SHOULD FIX THE SCHOOLS

Iowalive networkers did an analysis to find the superintendents most likely capable and willing to fix the schools, if called upon to do so.  The following tables show the results.  

THESE 10 SUPERINTENDENTS SHOULD LEAD THE STATE TO FIX SCHOOLS

IOWALIVE FINDS THESE SUPERINTENDENTS TO BE CAPABLE AND  SHOULD BE WILLING TO EFFECTIVELY LEAD PILOT  PROGRAMS TO FIX IOWA'S SCHOOLS.  Source:  Iowalive  1-27-17

Supt. Integrity Index Score

District  2016, 41st NPR State Reading Rank

District Name

Superintendent

Phone No.

Email Address

ENROLLMENT

660

4

United Comm

Tim Salmon

5154325319

tsalmon@united.k12.ia.us

244

610

153

Southeast Warren Comm

Delane Galvin

6414663510

delane.galvin@se-warren.k12.ia.us

491

565

10

Mount Vernon Comm

Gary O'Malley

3198958845

gomalley@mountvernon.k12.ia.us

1,292

560

6

Pleasant Valley Comm

Jim Spelhaug

5633325550

spelhaugjim@pleasval.k12.ia.us

4,455

540

48

Lynnville-Sully Comm

Shane Ehresman

6415944445

ehresman@lshawks.com

471

530

317

Orient-Macksburg Comm

Clark Wicks

6413375061

clark.wicks@o-mschools.org

156

515

41

Indianola Comm

Art Sathoff

5159619500

art.sathoff@indianola.k12.ia.us

3,533

470

132

Sheldon Comm

Robin W. Spears

7123242504

rspears@sheldon.k12.ia.us

1,068

380

290

Emmetsburg Comm

Amanda Schmidt

7128523201

aschmidt@e-hawks.org

767

350

309

Melcher-Dallas Comm

Randy Alger

6419473731

algerr@melcher-dallas.k12.ia.us

338

518

131

AVERAGE

 

TOTAL

12,815

Integrity Index Scores were derived with methods posted on website:   http://www.iowalive.net/integrityderivation.htm    where significant integrity starts at 300.  Evil is 250 and below.

Anyone Claiming to Have Better Numbers is Asked to Provide Them.

 

SUPERINTENDENTS & FIXES WILL RAISE IOWA’S SCHOOLS TO TOPS IN THE NATION

BEWARE!   Iowa Educators Will Falsely Claim % at or Above Basic is Equivalent to % at or above Proficient!! 

SUBJECT

*3 FIXES WILL IMPROVE %  AT OR ABOVE PROFICIENT

3 FIXES WILL IMPROVE NATIONAL RANK

FROM

TO

FROM

TO

2015

2025

2015

2025

IA NAEP Reading

38%

58%

19

1

IA NAEP Math

44%

56%

16

1

Anyone Claiming to Have Better Numbers is Asked to Provide Them

 

*See website http://www.iowalive.net/failuresandfix.htm   for more details on school fixes and  National Assessment of Educational  Progress (NAEP)

MORE SCHOOL FUNDING FROM LEGISLATORS & THEIR REPRESENTATION DOESN’T HELP

For comparison, the superintendents in the following 9 schools were considered and did not make the top 10.  And they all want more school funding and pay raises for poor school  performance—and they have no known effective plans or intentions for making measurable improvements (numbers) in anything. 

THESE 9 SUPERINTENDENTS HAVE RECEIVED ANNUAL FUNDING INCREASES FROM LEGISLATORS AND IT DIDN’T HELP SCHOOL PERFORMANCE

Democrat Legislators Clamor About School Funding and Refuse to Talk About Poor School Performance, in their News LettersDemocrats

Quirmbach and  Steckman Performed a Survey and Only 140 Superintendents Responded

Please note  the unfairness in the number of legislators representing the larger school districts and also the unfairness that their funding is not factored downward for economies of scale—compared to smaller schools.  This is covered in detail on website http://www.iowalive.net/fairerschoolaidfunding.htm

70% OF KEY LEGISLATORS REPRESENTING SCHOOL DISTRICTS IN THE TABLE ARE DEMOCRATS.   DISTRICTS IN RED ARE IOWA URBAN EDUCATION NETWORK (IUEN) MEMBERS, AMONG THE WORST DISTRICTS RANKED IN READING IN THE STATE.   Source:  Iowa Dept. of Education and Iowalive  1-26-17

STATE 65th NPR READING  RANK

SCHOOL DISTRICT

KEY SCHOOL DISTRICT LEGISLATORS

POLITICAL DISTRICT

POLITICAL PARTY

EMAIL ADDRESS

SUPERINTENDENT

EMAIL ADDRESS

ENROLLMENT

227

Cedar Rapids

Liz Bennett

65

Democrat

Liz.Bennett@legis.iowa.gov

Brad Buck

bbuck@cr.k12.ia.us

16,939

Art Staed

66

Democrat

art.staed@legis.iowa.gov

Todd E. Taylor

70

Democrat

rob.taylor@legis.iowa.gov

Robert Hogg

33

Democrat

rob.hogg@legis.iowa.gov

Wally E. Horn

35

Democrat

wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov

239

Dubuque

Abby Finkenauer

99

Democrat

Abby.Finkenauer@legis.iowa.gov

Stan Rheingans

srheingans@dbqschools.org

10,588

Charles Isenhart

100

Democrat

charles.isenhart@legis.iowa.gov

284

Mason City

Sharon S. Steckman

53

Democrat

sharon.steckman@legis.iowa.gov

Michael Penca

mpenca@masoncityschools.org

3,738

298

Sioux City

Jim Carlin

6

Republican

Jim.Carlin@legis.iowa.gov

Paul Gausman

gausmap@live.siouxcityschools.com

14,615

Chris Hall

13

Democrat

chris.hall@legis.iowa.gov

Timothy Kacena

14

Democrat

Timothy.Kacena@legis.iowa.gov

Rick Bertrand

7

Republican

rick.bertrand@legis.iowa.gov

305

Council Bluffs

Greg Forristall

22

Republican

greg.forristall@legis.iowa.gov

Martha Bruckner

mbruckner@cbcsd.org

9,126

Mary Ann Hanusa

16

Republican

maryann.hanusa@legis.iowa.gov

Charlie McConkey

15

Democrat

Charlie.McConkey@legis.iowa.gov

Dan Dawson

8

Republican

dan.dawson@legis.iowa.gov

316

Davenport

Phyllis Thede

93

Democrat

phyllis.thede@legis.iowa.gov

Art Tate

tateart@davenportschools.org

15,801

Cindy Winckler

90

Democrat

cindy.winckler@legis.iowa.gov

Jim Lykam

45

Democrat

jim.lykam@legis.iowa.gov

Roby Smith

47

Republican

roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov

325

Des Moines Ind

John Forbes

40

Democrat

john.forbes@legis.iowa.gov

Thomas Ahart

superintendent@dmschools.org

32,582

Ruth Ann Gaines

32

Democrat

ruthann.gaines@legis.iowa.gov

Chris Hagenow

43

Republican

chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov

Jake Highfill

39

Republican

jake.highfill@legis.iowa.gov

Kevin Koester

38

Republican

kevin.koester@legis.iowa.gov

John Landon

37

Republican

john.landon@legis.iowa.gov

Brian Meyer

33

Democrat

brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov

Zach Nunn

30

Republican

Zach.Nunn@legis.iowa.gov

Jo Oldson

41

Democrat

jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov

Rick Olson

31

Democrat

rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov

328

Waterloo

Timi Brown-Powers

61

Democrat

Timi.Brown-Powers@legis.iowa.gov

Jane Lindaman

lindamanj@waterlooschools.org

10,936

Ras Smith

62

Democrat

Ras.Smith@legis.iowa.gov

Jeff Danielson

30

Democrat

jeffdanielson@gmail.com

William A. Dotzler Jr.

31

Democrat

bill.dotzler@legis.iowa.gov

330

Marshalltown

Mark D. Smith

71

Democrat

mark.smith@legis.iowa.gov

Theron Schutte

tschutte@marshalltown.k12.ia.us

5,321

% DEMOCRATS

70%

TOTAL ENROLLMENT

119,646

 

RECOMMENDATIONS

The governor should hold a meeting with the 10 superintendents and legislature leadership and ask the superintendents to step up and lead the state in selecting and effectively evaluating and implementing effective pilot program school fixes, including school choice/vouchers now underway in the legislature.  Unfairness in legislator representation and adjusting school funding for economies of scale should be seriously discussed as well, in the interest of increasing fairness. 

In addition, the meeting should include setting in motion the requirement that schools pay for remediation for students the schools failed to bring to grade level.   Parents are now paying for this remediation out of their own pockets and that isn’t fair.  Kid fixers, such as Judy Hintz, at Educational Resource Associates in West Des Moines, routinely bring such students up to grade level as reported on websites    http://www.iowalive.net/judyhintzteachespoorkids.htm  and   http://www.iowalive.net/liftbanonjudyhintz.htm  Judy and her team have fixed kids the schools have failed for 35 years and is now leading a movement to fix the public schools. 

The media should report scheduling and results of the superintendents’ meeting. 

THE BOTTOM LINE

If asked by the governor or legislators, will each of you step up and lead pilot program initiatives etc. and fix Iowa’s public schools?  Or will you refuse? and turn the schools over to entrepreneurs who will definitely fix them, to the  delight of school boards suffering 23 years, and counting, of no gain in NAEP 4th reading scores,  http://www.iowalive.net/summerreadingfailed.htm  !  It’s your choice. 

Please respond to this post. 

http://www.iowalive.net/

Sincerely,

Iowalive   A  growing network of volunteer citizens and professionals for improving Iowa